minimum wage

New St. Paul Minimum Wage Law

11.20.2018
|
Comments off
|

Last week, St. Paul enacted a new minimum-wage ordinance which will take effect on December 14. The ordinance creates a minimum wage of $15/hour. However, businesses don’t have pay that wage immediately. Instead, the minimum wage will increase gradually over several years until every employer pays that wage. The ordinance is enforced by the St. Paul Department of Human Rights and Equal Economic Opportunity (the “Department”).

What are the phases and which ones apply to my business? The timing depends on how many employees you have. There are four categories:

Macro businesses: over 10,000 […]

Colorado landscaper penalized for violating H-2B workers’ rights

01.23.2018
|
Comments off
|

Many green industry companies rely on H-2B visas to hire seasonal workers from outside the U.S. H-2B workers are  covered by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA), and the H-2B program imposes additional requirements on employers, such as providing records, paying certain expenses, and posting legal notices about worker rights.

As one Colorado landscaper recently discovered, violating H-2B workers’ rights can be financially devastating. The U.S. Department of Labor (DOL) recently shared the outcome of their investigation of Parkside Landscaping, Inc., a Denver-area business. Parkside failed to pay the prevailing wage specified in […]

New Minneapolis minimum wage law now in effect

01.9.2018
|
Comments off
|

If your employees work in the City of Minneapolis, even infrequently, you may need to comply with the City’s new minimum-wage ordinance. Effective January 1st, 2018, the ordinance will incrementally raise the minimum wage until it reaches $15.

Does my business have to comply?

Yes, if your employees work in Minneapolis for at least 2 hours/week during any calendar week (not during every calendar week). A calendar week is defined as Monday-Sunday. But take note:

You have to pay the minimum wage for time worked within the City when the employee meets the conditions […]

Statewide minimum wage increase

11.20.2017
|
Comments off
|

Minnesota employers take note: Minimum wage will increase statewide as of January 1, 2018. There are two rates: a large-business rate and a small-business rate. If your annual gross revenue (not net revenue) is $500,000 or more, you’ll need to pay the large-business rate of $9.65/hr. If your annual gross revenue is lower, you’ll need to pay the small-business rate of $7.87/hr.

State law requires employers to display a minimum-wage poster in their workplace. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has an updated poster available for […]