employment law

4 Essential Tips for Parting with Workers

09.2.2014
|
Comments off
|

Parting Ways With Employees.

Employees in Minnesota are considered “at will” employees. This means they can quit for any reason. It also means that an employer can terminate an employee for any legal reason. Provided the termination is not for a discriminatory reason (race, creed, color, sex, national origin, ancestry, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, or marital status), then employers have a lot of leeway in deciding who to terminate and when to terminate them.

No Two Week Notice.

Under Minnesota law there is no such thing as a “two week notice”. Industry customs and courtesies […]

The Rise of the Minimum Wage

08.4.2014
|
Comments off
|

For the first time in nearly a decade, the Minnesota minimum wage in on the rise. I wrote a rundown of the changes when the increase became law in April. That article is reprinted below.

Minimum wage is on the rise

It’s official.  Come August, the Minnesota minimum wage is going up.  This week, Governor Mark Dayton signed an increase to the minimum wage into law.  It will rise to $8 per hour in August, and by 2016 it will reach $9.50.  The new law also pegs the minimum wage to inflation, so it will regularly […]

Minnesota Child Labor Laws – More Child Worker Restrictions

02.20.2014
|
Comments off
|

Time Restrictions for Minors 16 & 17 Years Old:

Once a child reaches 16 years old, but before they turn 18 years old, there are expanded hours they can work. Minnesota law states that students may not work after 11pm on evenings before school days, or before 5am on school days. These hours may be expanded to 11:30pm and 4:30am respectively if the employer receives written permission from the workers parent or guardian.

Work Restriction for Minors Under 18 Years Old:

There are also many restrictions on the type of work that workers under […]

The Minnesota Parenting Leave Act

01.31.2014
|
Comments off
|

The Minnesota Parenting Leave Act (MPLA) has long required employers to allow their employees to use personal sick leave to care for the employee’s minor child due to illness or injury. As of August 1, 2013, that sick leave also extends to the sickness or injury of the employee’s family members. Qualified family members include the employee’s sibling, parent, grandparent, or stepparent. In addition, the Act previously extended only to minor children under 18 years of age, but now also extends to children under age 20 who are still attending secondary school.

This change to the MPLA […]