For the first time in nearly a decade, the Minnesota minimum wage in on the rise. I wrote a rundown of the changes when the increase became law in April. That article is reprinted below.
Minimum wage is on the rise
It’s official. Come August, the Minnesota minimum wage is going up. This week, Governor Mark Dayton signed an increase to the minimum wage into law. It will rise to $8 per hour in August, and by 2016 it will reach $9.50. The new law also pegs the minimum wage to inflation, so it will regularly […]
Beginning August 1st, 2014, the minimum wage in Minnesota will increase. Among the major changes, is an increase to $8.00 per hour for employees of companies that have more than $500,000 in gross sales per year. There are additional changes too, so check out the Minnesota Department of Labor & Industry’s new wage poster for details. Also, make sure your business has all of the required state posters, which are available for FREE through the Department of Labor’s website: http://www.dli.mn.gov/ls/posters.asp
Has your state banned the box?
Across the country, states are joining a slow, but steadily growing movement to ban employers from requiring workers to disclose their criminal history in initial job applications. Illinois is the latest state to pass so-called ban-the-box legislation, which prohibits employers from asking job applicants if they have criminal records until the final stages of the hiring process.
It’s important to note that these laws don’t typically prevent employers from using criminal history as a factor in hiring decisions. Instead, they dictate when employers can inquire about criminal […]
Same Test, New Doctor
Beginning Wednesday, May 21, 2014 medical exams for commercial drivers must be performed by registered medical examiners. Longstanding state and federal regulations require certain commercial drivers to obtain certifications from medical professionals affirming that they are qualified to operate vehicles. In Minnesota, drivers that are covered by the regulations must carry medical cards. But under new federal rules, drivers can no longer simply go to their family doctor for certification.
The federal rules will soon restrict who can perform the required exam. As of May 21, only health care workers who are members of […]