Parting Ways With Employees.
Employees in Minnesota are considered “at will” employees. This means they can quit for any reason. It also means that an employer can terminate an employee for any legal reason. Provided the termination is not for a discriminatory reason (race, creed, color, sex, national origin, ancestry, religion, age, disability, sexual orientation, or marital status), then employers have a lot of leeway in deciding who to terminate and when to terminate them.
No Two Week Notice.
Under Minnesota law there is no such thing as a “two week notice”. Industry customs and courtesies […]
Workers Have the Right to Reveal Wages
Minnesota employees now have a legal right to share and discuss their wages. A new law bars employers from requiring workers to sign wage nondisclosure agreements or punishing them for discussing their wages. The law, codified as Minn. Stat. § 181.172, was passed as part of a bill aimed at increasing gender equity, but it applies to all employees. While many workers will prefer to keep their pay to themselves, employers can no longer expect or require a veil of silence when it comes to wages.
Companies with handbooks should also […]
Drug Testing in the workplace
This spring, Minnesota became the 22nd state in the union to allow residents to use marijuana for medical treatment. The state has also joined a smaller handful of others in banning discrimination against workers who use medical marijuana. Whether or not you support legalizing medical marijuana, this law is certain to pose challenges for companies that require workers to undergo drug testing.
If your business mandates employee drug tests, now is the time to review your policies and ensure that they comply with both Minnesota and federal drug laws—a fine line to […]
For the first time in nearly a decade, the Minnesota minimum wage in on the rise. I wrote a rundown of the changes when the increase became law in April. That article is reprinted below.
Minimum wage is on the rise
It’s official. Come August, the Minnesota minimum wage is going up. This week, Governor Mark Dayton signed an increase to the minimum wage into law. It will rise to $8 per hour in August, and by 2016 it will reach $9.50. The new law also pegs the minimum wage to inflation, so it will regularly […]