Minnesota employers take note: Minimum wage will increase statewide as of January 1, 2018. There are two rates: a large-business rate and a small-business rate. If your annual gross revenue (not net revenue) is $500,000 or more, you’ll need to pay the large-business rate of $9.65/hr. If your annual gross revenue is lower, you’ll need to pay the small-business rate of $7.87/hr.
State law requires employers to display a minimum-wage poster in their workplace. The Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry (DLI) has an updated poster available for […]
The City of St. Paul recently passed an ordinance requiring employers to provide sick leave for employees. The ordinance, St. Paul City Ordinance 16-29 (available here), will be phased in beginning July 1, 2017. The ordinance is very similar to one passed earlier this year by the city of Minneapolis, but applies to all employers, regardless of size. If you’re an employer in the Twin Cities metro area, familiarize yourself with these requirements.
The ordinance requires employers to provide employees with one hour of sick/safe leave for every 30 hours worked. Employees may […]
Employment law is a complicated topic and one that is very boring for a lot of people. Personally, I find it fascinating and consider myself lucky to be able to do so. There are many different laws, rules & regulations which apply to Construction Industry companies. Sorting through all of that red tape & legislation can be hard even for attorneys. So, this month, in order to convey as much useful information as possible to readers, I decided to share the most common Employment law violations I see in the Construction Industry.
Misclassification of Workers:
This is a […]